Make your own free website on Tripod.com

Second Front Errata [June 6th 1998]
John M. Astell, with Rich C. Velay

 {to be fair to John Astell, I should note that a lot of these entries are not really "errata", i.e. errors, but rather simply clarifications. These clarifications are provided to assist the player in understanding the rules; they do not mean the rules were "wrong".} ^_^
 
 

OBs, Maps and Charts

Maps:

Map 16A:

 * Ignore any minor spill-over of city hexes. For example, hex 0605 is a clear terrain hex.
* Add a canal on the 0928/0927 and 0827/0927 hexsides.
* Add escarpment on both sides of the river along the 4005/4105 and 4004/4105 hexsides.
* Add a railroad crossing the 4302/4303 hexside [connecting the two halves of Wien]
* The name of the river next to Steyr [3906] is the Enns.
* Some cities adjacent to rivers have minor registration problems with the city symbol being ever so slightly too far away from the river, such that they could appear to be partial hex major cities instead of full hex major cities. For example, the central hex of Berlin, the SE portion of Hamburg, Prag, Frankfurt-am-Main and 1520. In all cases, these are Full hex major cities.
 
 

Map 17A:

 * Change hex 0109 to Woods [from Clear] terrain
* Change the sea portion of hexes 1013 and 1014 to restricted waters
* Caen [1010] is an inland fragile port; add the artificial harbor notation to the port symbol in the hex.

Map 26:

* Add an internal [gray] border along the 0128/0129, 0128/0228, 0228/0227 and 0228/0328 hexsides [the boundary between Toscana and Liguria].
* Clarification: The Lipari islands in hex 3624 are Rough terrain.
 
 

Map 27:

 * Weather line D turns northwest in hex 043 [instead of 0431] and runs through hexes 0331-0231-0132 [instead of 0332-0232-0133].
* The Zaroud wadi system is incorrectly shown as Salt Desert terrain. Only the 3912/3913 hexside [Kelbia Sebkha] is Salt Desert. All hexsides are Wadi beginning with 3913/4012 and including all hexsides of the system west of this point.
 
 

Counters:

[ note that many of these errors were corrected on the German Higher HQ counter sheet, available from GR/D. Also note that all of these errors have been corrected in the SF Refit counters, available from GR/D. The only errors on the Refit counter sheets are the misprinting of the 1-8 Mar Cmdo II 10 [IA] as a brigade; it is a battalion, not a brigade; There is one Allied Italian 2-3-6 Inf X with no unit ID, it should have a unit ID of "Fol".]

 US Army:

 * The 1-8 Mortar II 96 has a 2-point position AA mistakenly printed on the back. Ignore this.
* A 1-point position AA counter has no 2-point position AA on its back. It should.

 US Army Air Force:

 * The B-25G and one B-25J are mistakenly printed as "-25G" and "-25J" on their inoperative sides. Add a "B" to each.

 British Army:

 * The 4-10 Mech X divisional breakdown should have "B" on both its supported and unsupported sides [it mistakenly has "A" on its supported side.]

 Royal Air Force:

 * A P51D5, a Typhoon 1B and the Whirl air units all lack back printing. Each should have its model and "Inop" on the back.
* The RAF ETO 3rd and 4th Strategic Wings mistakenly have "Typhn 1B Inop" or "Whirl Inop" printed on their backs. Ignore these.
 
 

German Army:

 * The counters for the 1-10 mot Rkt Art II Lehr and 4-6-6 Inf XX 230 are inadvertently missing from the counter mix. Players will have to make their own counters for these units.
* The 2x 3-4-6* Mtn Trng XX 11077, 11082 counters are mistakenly shown as divisions. They are brigades, 3-4-6* Mtn Trng X..
* The 1-2-10 PzG II Lehr shows no self-supported indicator. It should be self-supported: 1-2-10* PzG II.

 Luftwaffe:

 * The 3x 0-1-5 Inf II 501, 502, 503 [LW] are all mistakenly shown as battalions. They are regiments: 0-1-5 Inf III [LW]

 OKW:

 * The 2-3-4* Static XX Grp Altmrk [OKW] has a mistaken unit identification. It should be Altrch.

 Waffen-SS:

 * The 0-1-4 Static II ASA [SS] has a mistaken unit identification. It should be AS.

 RSI Italian:

 * The 1-8 Mtn III Tagl [CCNN] is mistakenly printed in regular Italian colors. It should be in CCNN colors.
Note that the replacement counter for this unit included with the German Higher HQ counter sheet was also in error, showing the unit as a 1-4 Mtn III and having it in SS colors...

 Markers:

 * The (-4) PzG markers are mistakenly missing from the counter mix. Players will have to make their own; there should be 7 of these markers.
* Although it should be obvious, Rail hit markers are Red [with the "Line Cut" symbol on the back], while the Black Hit markers, with multiple hits on the back, should be used for non-rail hits, like Airbase hits.
 
 

note for owners of the SF Refit counters: The listing in Rule 2 - Game Components is incorrect if you have the refit counter sheets. If you do, then you should have counter sheets 60, 61A through 75A, and a Universal Marker sheet. (If your German Port Fortification counters have attack factors, then you have the old counter sheets, if they have zero attack factors, then you have the new counter sheets.)
 
 

Charts

Optional AA Fire Table:

 * Note that the -1 AA effectiveness modifier to the ADS of Code S type HB units when flying GS and DAS is superfluous, since no type HB air unit may fly GS or DAS missions.
* Note #2 for this table is scrambled: replace it with the following; Lettered columns are only used as a result of column shifts. Column shifts are cumulative. Treat shifts that would go past the "A" column as positive dice roll modifications on the "A" column; treat shifts that would go past the "F" column as negative dice roll modifications on the "F" column.
 
 

Unit Identification chart:

 * Note that on some copies of this chart, the unit symbol for "Other Motorized (mot) Units" is shown as mot Art. This is incorrect. The correct symbol for "Other Motorized" is an empty unit symbol box with the two "wheels" underneath, i.e. a Static unit symbol with the two "wheels".

Game Play Chart [2]

 * There should be a heading on the Success Table Die Roll Modifiers chart for; Day Air units crash landing: +2 for all Day Air units landing at night

Game Play Chart [3]

 * Note that the intrinsic AA listed for map items is cumulative. For example, Wilhelmshaven [16A:0612], a German dot city, Improved Fortress and major port, would have 5+ 3+ 1, or 9, points of intrinsic lt AA, the sum of all applicable values.
* Note that the intrinsic AA listed for Units is NOT cumulative; a unit will either have one pt of intrinsic lt AA [if it satisfies any one of the conditions listed] or it will have no intrinsic lt AA [if it satisfies none of the conditions]. For example, the Herman Goring 18-10 Pz XX would have one pt of intrinsic lt AA, regardless of the fact that is a Luftwaffe division AND an Axis c/m division AND that it has a printed attack strength of 9 or more. Any one of those conditions is sufficient to grant it one pt of lt AA; the fact that it satisfies more than one listed condition does NOT increase its intrinsic lt AA.
 
 

OB booklets:

Axis and Allied OBs: (addition/clarification) Note that when a conversion or reorganization deals with a unit at cadre strength, the conversion/reorganization must still take place; however, the owning player recovers replacement points equal to the difference between the unit at full strength and the unit at cadre strength. For example, on Jul I 44, the Allied player is required to convert a US 7-8* Arm cadre [1] to a 14-10 Arm XX [1]. Should there be no 7-8* Arm cadre in play, the Allied player would still perform the conversion, receiving 6 Arm and 3 Inf replacement points [the difference between the cadre called for and the full strength unit converted in its stead]. Replacement points generated in this manner may not be used on the turn they are received but are saved and may be used from the following friendly initial phase.

 Axis and Allied OBs: (addition) When the Axis OB requires the withdrawal/transfer of a unit that no longer exists, due to all of those units matching it in strength, size and type, having been converted/reorganized, the Axis player is required to withdrawal replacement points sufficient to replace the unit required to withdrawal/transfer. For example, if the OB calls for the transfer to the South East theatre of a 5-5- Static XX, but all such units have been reorganized to 5-7-6 Inf XX strength, then the Axis player would have to withdrawal 5 German Inf replacement points to fulfill the OB requirements.

 Axis and Allied OBs: (clarification) Note that the rule that allows permanent airfields and forts to be placed during initial deployment (by expending resource points) does not require the airfield or port be placed in the same area where its resource point can be deployed. A fort or airfield may be placed in any hex the player owns where such an item may be built. For example, using a resource point that would deploy in mainland Italy per the deployment instructions, the Axis player may place a fort on Sicily -or even in France or Germany.

 Axis OB:

 * Oct II 43 West: the 1x 5-7-6 Inf XX 384 should be noted as withdrawing to the East; it is *not* forming on this turn. [the line of text with "Withdraw to East:" was left out of the OB]
* Apr I 44 Initial Forces: "Capital of Germany: Berlin (16A:1902+) " should be "Capital of Germany: Berlin hex 16A:1902."
* RSI Italian Conditional Reinforcements: Occupation turn 2: Disband all former Axis Italian forces" should read "Disband all former Axis Italian units." Note that ground units [only] are disbanded. [By this time, no former Axis Italian air units will be in play, and former Axis Italian naval units will have become Kriegsmarine naval units.]
* On page 11, left column, the deployment zone for Central Italy should be: Place in Italy, south of hex row 26:1000 and on or north of hex row 26:1600.
* May I 43 Reinforcements, Withdraw to East: The entry "1x 2-3-6* Inf XX (5-7-6) 25 Hu (SS)" should be "1x 2-3-6* Inf Cadre (5-7-6) 25 Hu (SS)."
* Combined Tac Air OB, Luftwaffe: The initial forces for the DFS 230 for Apr should be 1, and not 3. Also, the Mar 44 entry on the DFS 230 should be -1, and not 1.
* Combined Tac Air OB, RSI Italian and the South Air OB, RSI Italian both contain the same error concerning the SM. 79-2 and SM. 79-3 air units. In both cases, the Apr 44 entry for the SM. 79-2 should be "-" [none] and for the SM. 79-3, "e1" [one eliminated]

 Axis OB: (clarification) Note that there is no Fuhrer HQ garrison box in Second Front; this garrison is included for the purposes of Grand Europa. Fuhrer HQ garrison units do not enter SF through garrison activation.

 Axis OB: (clarification) Note that a port fortification may be placed at Toulon during initial set up, even though Toulon is an unimproved fortress. Note that the -1 DRM for the unimproved fortress is cumulative with the -1 DRM of the port fortification. Note also that Port Fortifications may *not* be placed in inland ports.

 Axis OB: (correction) For Axis Invasion Reaction [Luftwaffe Alarm] Ignore the information below the German Strat Air OB, simply handle it as if you were calling up the Strat air forces. This does not count as one of the 5 times per year they may be called up. The Strat Air Warfare DRM for calling up German Strat Air Forces does apply.

Axis OB [Air]: Northern Italy Invasion Alarm: the section labeled "Jul I 43 through Jun II 44" should read "Jul I 43 through Jun I 44".

 Allied OB:

 * Any reference to "United Kingdom" means "Britain".
* Ignore references to the Malta holding box. There is no such box; simply place the units in Malta on the map. (NOTE: There is a Malta Garrison box, and units in garrison on Malta are placed in that box.)
* Italian Conditional Reinforcements: Occupation turn 5: "Disband all former Axis Italian forces" should read "Disband all former Axis Italian units." Note that ground units [only] are disbanded, and not naval units. (no former Axis Italian air units will be in play at this time.)
* The following OB information is missing from the Allied OB booklet should appear immediately before the "Sequester" portion of the OB for Jul I 44 Jul I 1944 MTO, French: Convert: 1x 4-3-8 Art X CEF to: 1x 3-2-8 Art X 1C (Afr) 1x 3-2-8 Art X 2C (Col) Convert: 1x 2-3-8 Hvy AA X CEF AA=5 to: 2x 1-2-8 Hvy AA X (AA=3) 1C, 2C
* The following OB information is missing from the Allied OB booklet and should be added to the Sequester portion of the OB for Jul I 44: 1x 9-8 Inf XX 45, 1x 2-1-10 Tank II 753, 1x 1-10 Mech Cav II 117 and 1x 1-2-10 mot AT II 601
* The following OB changes must be made: delete the reference to the 1061 Port Cons X on Apr I 44, MTO arrive, and its notation on Jul I 44 as to its being "Sequestered". Add this unit as an US MTO Arrival, on turn Aug I 44.
* The above units should also be added to the Southern France Invasion Forces, for Jul I 44, MTO, American.
* Jan I 44: If the 12-pt TF WNTF-1 (USN) has hits these must be transferred to the replacement counters 8-pt TF WNTF-2 (USN) and 4-pt TF FNFL (French).
* (correction) Note that there is a conflict between the Allied OB [re. Greece Garrison requirements] and the Allied Garrison Chart. The chart is correct; ignore all "Greece Garrison" references in the Allied OB.
 
 

Rules

Rule 7A4a: (clarification) The ability to increase Rail Cap is based on current capacity, that is, what is available in the phasing player's initial phase after taking into account Rail Marshaling Yard hits, and Strat Air effects.

 Rule 12B.3: (clarification) The ability to trace rail element supply lines is based upon total rail capacity, i.e. the player's capacity on the net as calculated prior to considering Rail Marshaling yard hits and Strat War effects. [note that supply is checked before one builds capacity on rail nets during friendly initial phases.]

 Rule 14H4: (change) Resolve Commando Raids immediately upon entry of the raiding Commando in the CD's hex. The Commando Raid is resolved before any CD (in the hex where the Commando is present) may fire. CD fire from adjacent hexes is resolved as normal.

 Rule 20G2h: (clarification). Only one attack force from any given airbase may attempt contact against a given naval group in a given hex. Naval groups which do not leave a hex (such as those debarking at a beach) are not subject to another contact attempt from the same airbase in the same player-turn.
Aircraft on CAP can not switch to escort Naval Patrols. Escorts for Naval Patrols must originate at the same base, and be part of the same movement group which made the successful contact roll.

 Rule 23G: (addition) Modify the success table die roll by +2 for day air units checking for crash landing after flying night air missions.

 Rule 26C2c: (correction/addition) Delete mention of Strategic Wings flying DAS; Strat Wings may not fly DAS since Allied DAS missions are flown during Axis player turns, when no Strat Wing could be available.
Add at the end of this rule, "Every 3 TBFs, or fraction thereof; calculated before any halving for terrain or weather, are considered to be one air unit for purposes of determining how many air units may assist a combat."

 Rule 28B: (correction) The sentence "A cargo naval group does not have a combat zone." is incorrect. Replace this sentence with "A cargo naval group has a combat zone in the hex it occupies."

 Rule 33A: (change/clarification) TFs providing NGS are not required to be stacked with friendly units, for the purposes of Rules 11 (Support) and/or 14B (Artillery). All friendly units involved in a combat involving friendly NGS are considered supported; any friendly non-artillery units involved in a combat may be counted towards the REs of non-artillery units required by 14B, regardless of whether or not they are stacked with the TF providing NGS.

 Rule 34F: (addition/clarification) Following Italian Surrender, the following apply to Danger Zones (DZ) that exist in the Mediterranean Sea (hereafter Med.).
[a note on terminology; remember that an Axis DZ is one that affects Axis naval units and is exerted by Allied owned ports, and an Allied DZ is one that affects Allied naval units and is one exerted by Axis owned ports.]
* Axis DZ are present in any sea or partial sea hex within 9 (not 5) hexes of an Allied owned port.
* Allied DZs are present in any sea or partial sea hex within 3 (not 5) hexes of an Axis owned port which is north of the 2000 hex row (of maps 26 and 27).
* To state the obvious, Axis owned ports in the Med on maps 16A and 17A are "north of the 2000 hex row on maps 26 and 27."
* Enemy DZs can NOT co-exist, a hex is either in an Axis DZ or it is an Allied DZ. Note that Axis DZs always negate Allied DZs.
* DZs must be traced along a natural sea route, e.g. a DZ can not be traced over a land hexside or through a hex with two unconnected bodies of water within it.
* (clarification) The Adriatic sea, per the rules, is a part of the Med and is affected by all rules which affect the Med, unless specifically exempted by special rules. Prior to Italian surrender, the Adriatic has special rules concerning Allied DZ therein, following It surrender, the Adriatic has no special DZ rules applicable to it and is simply treated as all other parts of the Med are treated.

 Rule 37B2: (clarification) The attack factor printed on Port Fortification counters is for special replacement purposes only. [note that Port Fortification counters included with the SF Refit counter sheets have no attack strength, Port Fortifications with zero attack strength use one half (rounded down) of their defense strengths for the purposes of calculating Special Replacements]

Rule 37E: (addition) In addition to cities, activated garrison units may be also be placed in any friendly owned Fortress in the activated district or region, as appropriate.

 Rule 37E1: (clarification/correction) The Allied Malta garrison uses the point city of Valetta as its garrison activation hex.

 Rule 38B3: (correction) Delete the last sentence of the first paragraph of this rule (that beginning with "Allied-owned Italian provinces..."
Insert the following in its place: "Allied-owned Italian provinces do not generate production prior to Italian surrender. Following Italian surrender, Allied-owned Italian provinces are considered liberated and liberated Italian provinces may receive production. Liberated Italian provinces do not generate production (replacements, resource points and naval repair points) for twelve game turns following liberation."

Rule 39B: Add to end of 1st paragraph: "Ignore Allied units in England.

 Rule 40D1: (correction) Replace the phrase "source of replacements" with "friendly-owned, unisolated regular source of supply".

 Rule 40D3: (correction) Replace the word "city" with the phrase "regular supply source"; replace the word "nation" with the word "force".
The corrected rule should read: [a player may give foreign aid] "as long as he can trace a supply line from any friendly-owned, unisolated regular supply source of the donating force to any friendly-owned, unisolated regular supply source of the force receiving the foreign aid."

Rule 41B2 & 3: (addition) For scenarios starting in Apr I 44, the Allied player determines weather and sea conditions prior to his pre-game movement phase. The weather in Zone D on Mar II 44 was Mud.

Rule 41B3 & 4: 1944 - 1945 scenarios: The Allied player may place supply points, sufficient for all units in the Anzio beachhead, during his initial setup.

 Rule 42 (and VP chart): (correction) A "Quarter" is always three months in length; the listing of quarters on the Victory Chart is incorrect. Quarters end on the Mar II, Jun II, Sep II and Dec II Axis player turns.

Rule 42: (correction) Replace "Jul I 43" with the phrase: "at the beginning of the scenario". The intent is that only those losses incurred through play, and not those present at the start, should count for VP calculations.

Rule 43 D2: (clarification) Code Z air units may begin making V-1 attacks as soon as they are available (May I '44). They does not have to wait until Jun I 44.
 
 

Please press on the Europa icon to go to page 2...