Make your own free website on Tripod.com
 


Second Front Errata [June 6th 1998]
John M. Astell, with Rich C. Velay


ETO 1944 Scenario and the invasion of Southern France

I've looked over SF's treatment of the August 1944 invasion of southern France. Naval and air forces do not work correctly for the invasion when playing The ETO scenario (41B3), as the invasion requires such forces from the MTO but the OBs do not specify such transfers. (The grand campaign scenarios, 41B1 & 2, work fine for southern France. In working through this situation, it strikes me that the Axis player should not be certain that Aug II 44 is the most likely date of the invasion, so I have taken the opportunity to improve this area too.
It seems simplest just to rewrite 41B3 in its entirety rather than just post modifications to it, so here goes:

 3. The ETO (1944-45 Theater Scenario). This scenario starts on the Apr I 44 turn and ends either upon the conclusion of the May I 45 turn or upon an Axis surrender (per Rule 38A2).
Use the Apr I 44 initial forces and the reinforcements starting from Apr I >44.
The Allied player controls the ETO theater. At the start of the game, he owns all hexes in Great Britain. For this scenario, the ETO includes the Mediterranean Sea and the island of Corsica. Treat Corsica as part of the ETO theater, and at the start of the game the Allied player owns all hexes in Corsica. Due to defensive forces not included in the scenario, Axis forces may not enter any hexes on Corsica (this include Axis naval forces entering any coastal hexes of Corsica.

 * RCV: Note the above means that the Allied player may place airbases on Corsica as part of his initial set up....

 In addition to the above, Allied forces may use airbases, ports, and naval bases in North Africa, Sicily, and Sardinia, as well as the port of Napoli (26:2422).

 * RCV: As above, the Allied player may also place air bases in the above listed locations.

 The Axis player controls the West and Greater Germany theaters. At the start of the game, he owns all non-neutral hexes except those owned by the Allies. The Allied player may invade (southern) France using forces drawn from the MTO. Starting on Jul I 44, the Allied player may plan amphibious landings and airborne operations for MTO forces for the turns Jul II 44 through Aug II 44. On the first turn that an amphibious landing or airborne operation is planned to occur, if the Allied player does not cancel it, he announces during his initial phase that he is invading southern France and receives: Ground Forces: All units sequestered for the invasion of southern France (see the American, British, and French sections of the Jul I 44 MTO order of battle). These MTO units are sequestered on Jul I 44, and the Allied player may plan amphibious landings and airborne operations for them from that turn. Note that these units in any event transfer to the ETO on Aug II 44.
Air Forces:
When Allied player announces the invasion, he receives the air units listed below as reinforcements in any airbases in Corsica, North Africa, Sicily, or Sardinia. These air units remain in play from the announcement of the invasion until the Allied initial phase of the Sep I 44 turn, upon which they are withdrawn. American: from MTO Tac: 2x B-26G, 8x C-47, 2x CG-4A, 3x P-47D25
British: from MTO Tac: 1x C-47 (RAF), 1x CG-4A (RAF)
French: from MTO Tac: 1x B-26B, 1x B-26G, 1x C-47, 1x P-39Q, 2x P-40N, 2x P-47D25, 1x Spit 8

 Naval Forces:
When Allied player announces the invasion, he receives the naval units listed below as reinforcements in any ports or naval bases in Corsica, North Africa, Sicily, or Sardinia. These naval units remain in play from the announcement of the invasion until the Allied initial phase of the Sep I 44 turn, upon which they are withdrawn. Note that the Allied player may count towards his RE limit when planning amphibious landings. Also note that American and French TFs are not available on Jul II 44. Allied: 12x landing craft, 20 pts naval transport
American (from Aug I 44 only): 1x 12 pt TF, 1x 8 pt TF (both USN)
British: 1x 16 pt TF (RN)
French (from Aug I 44 only): 1x 4 pt TF
Italian: 5 pts naval transport

 See Rule 42 for the victory conditions.
The MTO scenario (41B4) needs to account for Allied air and naval forces allocated to the invasion of southern France. Accordingly, the above listed air and naval forces are sequestered on Aug I 44 (not Jul I 44) and return as reinforcements on Sep I 44. (Note that upon their return some of these forces may be involved in other reinforcement activities, such as various naval units being transferred to the ETO.)
 
 

"Airborne" vs. "Air-Droppable"

Certain rules confuse the terms "airborne units" (per the unit identification chart, this is a specific unit type: the airborne/parachute-infantry symbol) and "air-droppable units" (per Rule 24, these are all parachute, air landing/glider, and parachute commando units). "Air-droppable is the correct term for the following rules:
Rule 24B1 (Hex Ownership): All mentions of "airborne unit" should be "air-droppable unit."
Rule 40B2/B3 (Axis/Allied Replacements): All mentions of "airborne RE" should be "air-droppable RE."
(The rules here limit the number of air-droppable REs that may be replaced). Ignore the note referring to an Allied airborne division requiring 9 months to be replaced. Note that a precise reading of the uncorrected rules would allow, for example, parachute or glider units to be replaced without limit, with only airborne/parachute-infantry units being limited. The corrected rule fixes this, although for simplicity it allows an anomaly that is addressed in an optional rule below.

 Airborne/Air-Droppable Replacements (Optional)
The correction of the "airborne" vs. "air-droppable" confusion creates an anomaly in the replacement system: divisions with the airborne/parachute-infantry symbol are not affected by the limits on replacing "air-droppable" REs, even though many of these divisions break down into air-droppable components. This optional rule addresses this: The divisions listed below are affected by Rule 40B2/B3's limits on replacing air-droppable REs:

 American 14-8 Abn XX:
4 air-droppable REs are required to replace division at full strength
3 air-droppable REs are required to rebuild cadre to full strength
1 air-droppable RE is required to replace division at cadre strength

 American and British 11-8, 10-8, 10-6, 9-6 Abn XX:
3 air-droppable REs are required to replace division at full strength
2 air-droppable REs are required to rebuild cadre to full strength
1 air-droppable RE is required to replace division at cadre strength

 German 11-9-8, 9-8* Para-Inf XX:
1 air-droppable RE is required to replace division at full strength
1 air-droppable RE is required to rebuild cadre to full strength
0 air-droppable REs are required to replace division at cadre strength

 Italian 5-8 Para-Inf XX (184 Nm only):
1 air-droppable RE is required to replace division at full strength
1 air-droppable RE is required to rebuild cadre to full strength
0 air-droppable REs are required to replace division at cadre strength

 For any unit that requires more than one air-droppable RE to replace/rebuild, the player must replace/rebuild the unit incrementally. Each 3-month period, he may spend his air-droppable RE replacement limit for the unit, marking the unit with a convenient marker. Once the unit has sufficient air-droppable REs for replacement/rebuilding, the player may spend the appropriate replacement points and actually replace/rebuild the unit.
 
 

The Straits of Messina

The standard rules do not cover the Axis use of the Straits of Messina (26:3822, 3823, 3923, where the rail ferries are) adequately. In particular, Rule 34J, Landing Craft as Ferries, is a simplification of the actual situation and allows the Allies to interdict the straits far better in the game than they did historically. The simplest solution is to allow the Axis player (only) to treat the Straits of Messina as narrow straits hexsides: The Axis player may treat any rail ferry in these hexes as a narrow straits hexside, provided he owns both hexes of the rail ferry. For example, the Axis player may treat the rail ferry on the 26:3822/3823 hexside as a narrow straits hexside if he owns both 26:3822 and 26:3823.
Note that the Allied player derives *NO* benefit from this change, i.e. he may *NOT* treat these hexsides as narrow straits and must use the LC as Ferry rules as written.
 
 

Second Front Amphibious Re-cap

Rules Errata and Clarifications
Rule 27B6 is rephrased for better clarity
"6. Amphibious Ability. Any unit with the amphibious or marine symbol as part or all of its unit type is intrinsically amphibious. The following units are also amphibious:
* Any unit carried by an LVT per Rule 14J2, so long as it is using the LVT.
* Any non-motorized unit without heavy equipment that is embarking, disembarking, or being transported by an LC."

 Rule 31B claims: "Non-amphibious units with heavy equipment may not embark/disembark at beaches." This is WRONG: such units can land at beaches if they use landing craft [LCs], as explained in the rewrite of Rule 31B below:

 "B. Beaches
Any amphibious unit [as defined in Rule 27B6] may land at a beach. A non-amphibious unit may also land at a beach, if it is solely on board LCs at the time of its landing. [Note: A non-amphibious unit on board NTs or NTs in combination with LCs may not land at a beach.]
A naval unit may not embark or disembark cargo at a beach during stormy se conditions"

 Delete the following sentence from Rule 30B:
"However, cargo that has heavy equipment may not embark/disembark at a beach unless it is amphibious [per Rule 27B6]"

 The last bullet point in the first paragraph of Rule 32 is incorrect and must be deleted:
"Only LCs may disembark the cargo making an amphibious landing."

 The first two bullet points in Rule 32B are correct as written, but some players have complained they are difficult to understand. Another way to put them is:
* An intrinsically amphibious unit making an amphibious landing has its attack strength halved.
* Any other unit making an amphibious landing has its attack strength quartered.

Add the following sentence to Rule 27B3: "Exception: LCs can not carry rail-only units."

 Rule 32C: replace the existing rule with the following:
An amphibious landing must be planned in advance, similar to an airborne landing [Rule 24C]. Use Rule 24C for planning an amphibious landing with these modifications:
* A player may plan an amphibious landing for each of his intrinsically amphibious units [that is, any unit with the amphibious or marine symbol as all or part of its unit type.
* For all other units, a player is has a maximum, per turn, RE planning limit equal to the cargo capacity of LCs currently in play [not sunk]. For example, if a player has in play LCs with a total cargo capacity of 20 REs, he may plan amphibious landings for 20 REs of units.

(clarification) And please note that a player can *not* "carry over" REs of units with plans made for them, from turn to turn. The RE limit is on a per turn basis, i.e. the total of intrinsically amphibious units in play, and the cargo capacity of all LCs in play, is the maximum planning limit each and every turn. For example, if you had no intrinsically amphibious units, and only one LC, you could make plans for an amphibious landing involving only one RE of allowable units. Let us imagine you have made such a plan, for a 3-8 Mtn III on the Jun I 44 turn, to land on the Jun II 44 turn.. During the Friendly initial phase of the Jun II 44 turn, you may: cancel that planned landing and plan a new one for that particular unit, cancel that landing and plan a new one for a different unit, carry out that landing and plan a new one for either the same, OR a different unit. Note that if the plan for the 3-8 Mtn III [in this example] is not canceled [for example, by just changing the date of its occurrence] then NO new plan may be made during that initial phase.
 
 

Press here to return to page 1 of the errata

return to the main index